The origins of the Southern and Eastern Africa Consortium for Monitoring Educational Quality (SACMEQ ) date back to 1991, the year when several Ministries of Education in Eastern and Southern Africa started working closely with UNESCO’s International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP) on the implementation of integrated educational policy research and training programmes.

In 1995 these Ministries of Education formalized their collaboration by establishing a network that is widely known as SACMEQ . Fifteen Ministries are now members of SACMEQ : Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania (Mainland), Tanzania (Zanzibar), Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

SACMEQ is registered in Zimbabwe as an Independent Intergovernmental Non-profit Organization. Its Coordination Centre is located within UNESCO’s Harare Cluster Office and is managed by a Director who works under the guidance of a six-member Managing Committee. SACMEQ ’s Assembly of Ministers meets every two years and provides overall policy guidance concerning SACMEQ ’s mission and programmes.

The focus of SACMEQ ’s capacity building programmes has been on building the capacity of Ministries of Education to monitor and evaluate the quality of their basic education systems. SACMEQ employs innovative training approaches that include a combination of face-to-face training, hands-on experience, computer laboratory sessions, and on-line support via the Internet. SACMEQ also encourages a unique form of collaboration among SACMEQ National Research Coordinators in the fifteen member countries as they share and exchange skills and successful experiences.

In September 2004 SACMEQ was awarded the Comenius Medal for its innovative approaches to delivering cross-national educational research and training programmes.

This report provides a description of the results of the SACMEQ II Project - SACMEQ ’s second major educational policy research project. The results of the SACMEQ I Project were reported in seven national reports for Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and Tanzania (Zanzibar).

The SACMEQ Data Archive was launched in June 2004. This valuable information resource contains data, data collection instruments, manuals, technical papers, and related publications from both SACMEQ projects. Copies of the archive may be obtained by completing the registration form on the SACMEQ Website.

Reports & Briefs