This Department has primary and residual responsibility for all business, technical and vocational education at all levels of the education system.

It spearheaded the vocationalization of education.

All former departmental training institutions,

e.g. Agricultural Training Colleges, Paramedical Training Institutions, Forestry and Cooperative Colleges will be coordinated by this Department when they transferred to the Ministry of Education.

The Department will have three (3) Divisions namely; 

  • Business Education
  • Technical Education
  • Vocational Education.

Each Division will be headed by an Assistant Commissioner. The First National Skills Exhibition and Competition Kampala , Uganda. 6th 9th August 2009.

Skilling Uganda BTVET STRATEGIC PLAN 2011-2020 Final Draft July 2011