Higher Education

Mission Statement:-

To supervise, coordinate and guide the admissions, study, training and teaching and research at all institutions of higher learning:-

Objectives of Higher Education Department:-

  • Monitoring and supervision activities of all the tertiary institutions, with the view to ensuring the following:
  • Teaching to produce high-level human resource.
  • Qualitative research both basic and applied takes place to produce high caliber academic and technical human resources.
  • Public service through a variety of extension activities.
  • Books, journals and research papers are published.
  • Serving as store-houses of knowledge and centre of excellences.
  • To admit Uganda Advanced Certificate of Education ("A" level) leavers into other tertiary institutions.
  • To co-ordinate activities of regional organizations such as the Inter-University Council of East Africa (IUCEA), African Institute for Capacity Development (AICAD) and matters of Ugandan students on scholarship abroad.
  • To solicit for and administer scholarships through Central Scholarship Committee and Uganda Independence Scholarship Trust Fund.
  • To make interventions on policy issues relating to higher education.


Goals of Tertiary Education:-

  • Training high level technical, managerial and professional personnel for all sectors of national life.
  • Generating advanced knowledge and innovations through research and to be able to translate or adapt them to local and Ugandan situations.
  • Intensify the provision of public services through expanded extra-mural or extension work and consultancy services.
  • Develop the intellectual capacities of students to understand their local national environment objectively and appreciate to develop the same;
  • Promote the development of an indigenous scientific and technological capacity needed for tackling the problems of development;
  • Equip the students with knowledge, skills and attitudes to enable them to join the world of work as useful members of their communities and the nation at large, especially  through being.
  • Committed to, and ready for , community and national service voluntarily or when mobilized to do so;
  • Nationally conscious, tolerant of others and willing to work anywhere with fellow nationals;
  • Productive individuals with positive attitudes towards personal, community and national development as well as believing in the dignity of labour and displaying a willingness to be involved in productive practical work.

Functions of Higher Education Department:-

  • Monitors implementation of Government policies at Higher Education Institutions of learning. 
  • Through the Joint Admissions Board (JAB) undertakes the admission of Advanced level leavers to Tertiary Institutions for undergraduate diploma.  This is carried out immediately Public Universities Joint Admissions Board completes their admissions exercise;
  • Formulation of policies on admissions to tertiary institutions.
  • Provision of relevant technical advice to policy makers as regards Higher Education;
  • Executes policies, procedures and regulations pertaining to Scholarships and Admissions to Higher Institutions of learning and provides secretariat for the relevant organizations statutory committees like the Central Scholarships Committee, and the Uganda Independence Scholarship Trust Fund;
  • Co-ordinates activities of the African Institute for Capacity Development and Inter University Council of East Africa and matters of Ugandan students on scholarship abroad.


Public Universities:-

The Department monitors the functioning and operations of the following Government Universities:-

  1. Makerere University
  2. Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST)
  3. Kyambogo University
  4. Gulu University
  5. Busitema University

The Ministry is represented on the Governing Councils of these Universities by the staff of Higher Education Department.  They attend all Council meetings and most of Council Committee meetings.

Private Universities:-

Several private universities have come up and have been licensed to cater for "A" level leavers who cannot be absorbed by Universities mentioned above.  This has gone a long way in alleviating the problem of providing University Education to academically qualified students.

Those which are operating under this category are:

  1. Islamic University in Mbale (Chartered)
  2. Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi (Chartered)
  3. Nkumba University, Entebbe (Chartered)
  4. Bugema Adventist University (Chartered)
  5. Uganda Christian University, Mukono (Chartered)
  6. Busoga University.
  7. Ndejje University, Luwero (Chartered)
  8. Agha Khan University in Uganda, Kampala.
  9. Kampala University.
  10. Kampala International University (Chartered)
  11. Kumi University.
  12. Kabale University.
  13. All Saints University, Lira.
  14. African Bible University, Entebbe
  15. Uganda Pentecostal University, Fort portal.
  16. Fairland University, Jinja.
  17. Bishop Stuart University, Mbarara.
  18. St. Lawrence University, Kampala.
  19. Muteesa I Royal University, Masaka.
  20. International Health Sciences University, Kampala.
  21. Mountain of the Moon University, Fortporal.
  22. Cavendish University, Kampala.
  23. Victory University, Kira Road.
  24. International University of East African, Kansanga
  25. African Rural University, Kagadi.
  26. Islamic Call University College, Kampala.
  27. Livingstone International University, Mbale.

NB: A chartered University according to Section 103 (a) of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act 2001 as amended, means such a university is comparable to a Public University.

Appropriation in Aid (AIA):-

Cost sharing was abolished with effect from 2001/2002 academic year.  Admission to Tertiary Institutions is by two windows:  window I is Government sponsored while II is privately sponsored students.
The initiative for internally generated revenue by Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions through the private Students Scheme is in operation.  This is providing increased access and increased resources to the institutions.